Sunday, August 21, 2011

Rush - 2011-04-08 - Hershey, PA (FLAC - 3 # sources)

artwork from

Rush - 2011-04-08 - Hershey, PA (FLAC - 3 dif. sources)
Venue: Giant Center

Artwork taken from (another great blog)

Audience Master
Recorded and transferred by: Tapehead2

Source: Schoeps MK4 > actives > Nbox > Edirol R-09 (24/44.1)
Transfer: SDHC card > wav file > Sound Studio > xACT > FLAC (level 8)
Recording location: Section 221

Total Time: 2:48:03
Taper notes:
"The boys are back for the second leg of the Time Machine tour. Unfortunately, no setlist changes. Please, why can't they just play Jacob's Ladder like Alex said they would??? 
If burning to disc, suggested split points are between tracks 12 and 13, and 20 and 21.
Intended for free distribution and trade only, never for sale. Listeners down the line will appreciate it if you convert to mp3 only for your own personal use. Enjoy!"

Set 1
01. Video intro to set 1
02. The Spirit of Radio
03. Time Stand Still
04. Presto
05. Stick It Out
06. Workin' Them Angels
07. Leave That Thing Alone
08. Faithless
09. BU2B (Brought Up To Believe)
10. Freewill
11. Marathon
12. Subdivisions

Set 2
13. Video intro to set 2
14. Tom Sawyer
15. Red Barchetta
16. YYZ
17. Limelight
18. The Camera Eye
19. Witch Hunt
20. Vital Signs

21 Caravan
22 Neil Peart solo (Love 4 Sale)
23 Alex Lifeson solo > Closer To The Heart
24 2112 Overture >
25 Temples Of Syrinx
26 Far Cry
27 La Villa Strangiato
28 Working Man
29 Closing video

Rush Line Up (the same since 1974)
Geddy Lee: Bass guitar, vocals, synthesizers
Alex Lifeson: Guitar, vocals, synthesizers
Neil Peart: Drums, cymbals, electronic percussion

Audience Master
Recorded and transferred by: Tapehead2
Taper Contrast clause:
This recording was made from the same location but using different equipment than Source 1 above.

Source: SP-CMC-8 (AT943s) > SP-SPSB-10 > Sony M10 (24/44.1)
Transfer: M10 > USB > wav file > Sound Studio > xACT > FLAC (level 8)
Recording location: Section 221

Taper: chadhogg
Since setlist is the same, i won't repeat it here. Full setlist, info and the artwork in the rar pack.

Taper Note:
"This is a distinct source from both Tapehead2's. I have not yet listened to either of those, but because they were made with more expensive equipment and from a better location, I would guess that they are of significantly higher quality. If you download only one recording of this show, this should probably not be the one."
Source:  Zoom H-2 (internal mics) -> WAV -> Audacity (normalization, track splits) -> FLAC -> DAD

Taper Notes²: 
"There were some very loud pyrotechnics that required me to use much more severe compression than I have in the past on this, but I do not think it had much of an impact on the sound. Note that the sets are not divided one onto each disc because the second one was a bit too long.  I thought the sound of the venue, from where I was sitting at least (in the rafters, a bit more than halfway from the left of the stage), was quite bad. Thus, I am not particularly pleased with the sound of the recording. I might call it a 4/10".

No comments:

Post a Comment