Sunday, November 15, 2009

U2 - 1987-04-29 - Chicago, IL (Rock's Hottest Ticket)


Rock's Hottest Ticket was considered by most die-hard U2 fans to be their best unofficial live recording for years. This version was recorded in Chicago, IL, on April 29, 1987, at Rosemont Horizon. The concert from Chicago is one of the best audience recordings out there and this performance is one of the band's best from the early Joshua Tree tour (which would stretch for 18 months). At shows later in the tour, Bono's interaction with the crowd seems rote, like he has only an average connection with the audience. In this show, however, the band seems very excited to be on top of the world. The set list is standard but excellent and includes a rare cover of Peggy Seeger's "Springhill Mining Disaster." Rock's Hottest Ticket is the best place to start collecting U2 live shows, and only a few others sound this good.

Disc 1 (51:31)

1. Where The Streets Have No Name
2. I Will Follow
3. I Trip Through Your Wires
4. I Still Haven't Found What I'm Looking For
5. M L K
6. The Unforgettable Fire
7. Bullet The Blue Sky
8. Running To Stand Still
9. Exit
10. In God's Country
11. Sunday Bloody Sunday

Disc 2 (53:05)

1. Bad
2. October
3. Springhill Mining Disaster
4. New Year's Day
5. Pride (in The Name Of Love)
6. Mothers Of The Disappeared
7. With Or Without You
8. Gloria
9. 40

Download links here (in a txt file)

No comments:

Post a Comment