Wednesday, September 7, 2011

U2 - 2001-05-16 - Chicago, IL (MATRIX - FLAC)

U2 - 2001-05-16 - Chicago, IL (MATRIX - FLAC)
Venue: United Center

Sound Quality: Excellent audience/IEM mix.

Manufacturer: Poppy Productions
Catalog: PP 05 1605-1
Matrix: NA
Barcode: NA
Complete Show: YES
Format: 2CD
Released: 2005

This excellent recording is a mix of a very good audience tape by f.w. and a before rarely circulated IEM recording of that night. The sound quality is excellent, but has also some weak points caused by the typical IEM clicking. A lot of it has been removed or reduced with a slight lost of quality. This is for example notable during the beginning of Where the Streets Have No Name and With or Without You. But still, without clicking it might be more enjoyable than with it. And without questioning it is very enjoyable recording to listen to. It is perhaps one of the best recordings from the Elevation tour. This recording is close to the quality of Birdman's ALD/AUD Mix from the night before and the famous 'Cleveland Tea Party' recording. You can clearly hear Bono's voice and Larry's drumming. Unfortunately Edge's guitar is sometimes a little bit hard to hear. Crowd noise is almost not present or at least in no way disturbing. It only comes in at the right time.

Disc 1: (71:43)
01. Introduction / Elevation
02. The Fly
03. Even Better Than The Real Thing
04. Mysterious Ways / Sexual Healing
05. One
06. Wake Up Dead Man
07. Until The End Of The World
08. New Year's Day
09. Stuck In A Moment You Can't Get Out Of
10. Kite
11. New York
12. I Will Follow
13. Sunday Bloody Sunday
14. Sweetest Thing

Disc 2: (56:19)
01. Band Introduction
02. Angel Of Harlem
03. I Still Haven't Found What I'm Looking For
04. All I Want Is You
05. Where The Streets Have No Name
06. Pride (in The Name Of Love)
07. Bullet The Blue Sky
08. With Or Without You
09. Beautiful Day
10. I Remember You
11. Walk On

No comments:

Post a Comment