Wednesday, July 6, 2011

Jethro Tull - 2011-06-10 - Phoenix, AZ (FLAC)

Jethro Tull - 2011-06-10 - Phoenix, AZ (FLAC)
Comerica Theater
Recorded & Transfered By: Robert Mullen (lvrwm)

Equipment/Lineage: Audience/SP-CMC-25 mics (Croakies)>SP-SPSB-2(Battery Boost Box)>Sony PCM-M10>CD Wave Editor(tracking)>Traders Little Helper flac level 8.

Recorder Settings: PCM-M10 at 44.1 kHz/16 bit, low mic sensitivity, manual record, limiter on, mic power off, low cut filter off, speed control off.

Taper Comments:
"Here is our recording of this very good show by Jethro Tull. We were in section 3, about halfway between the stage and soundboard directly in front of the stage left speaker stack. The crowd was excited for this show and a better behaved to my left, not quite as well to my right. The recording came out really well. This band puts on a good show (IMHO) and they performed well according to the gentlemen sitting to my left who has been to 12 Tull shows since 69'. Enjoy...and... Please: Convert to lossy format only for personal use. Please: Do Not Buy or Sell This Recording. Please: Trade Freely, Keeping The Recorder And Lineage Information Intact. Please: Relax and Enjoy!

Press Comments²:
"Really would mind if I sat this one out.  With those words (or perhaps it was the correct lyrics) from the concert’s opening song, “Thick as a Brick,”  so began an evening with Jethro Tull on their Aqualung 40th Anniversary tour which played at Comerica Theater in Phoenix on Friday night. Gauging from the grey hair, canes and waist lines found in the audience (I’m surprised there was no AARP discount), ninety five percent of them were teenagers when Aqualung was released back in 1971.  However, the nearly sold out audience appreciated Jethro Tull’s indulgence of them living in the past.
Led by flautist/acoustic guitarist/lead vocalist/showman/jester Ian Anderson, Jethro Tull delivered a tight, two hour with intermission, set.  True to their promise, Jethro Tull did play all the songs off the Aqualung album, just not in order.  There were the  acoustic couplings of “Cheap Day Returns," “Mother Goose,” and Wond’ring Aloud” and the expected back to back renditions of “My God,” and “Hymn 43.” However, “Cross Eyed Mary,” closed the first set while the band rocked the audience back to life opening the second set with “Aqualung.”  The encore, as is standard In Tull shows, closed the night with “Locomotive Breath,” with some snippets of “Teacher” thrown in for good measure." (Ted Hansen, Mesa Classic Rock Music Examiner)


Set One
01. Intro (1:38)
02. Thick as a Brick (9:27)
03. Ian Speaks (1:04)
04. Songs from the Woods (4:39)
05. Farm on the Freeway (6:59)
06. Cheap Day Return (2:13)
07. Mother Goose (5:44)
08. Ian Speaks (0:17)
09. Wondr'ing Aloud (2:27)
10. Up To Me (3:41)
11. Ian Speaks (0:49)
12. Bouree (5:22)
13. Cross-Eyed Mary (3:50)

Set Two
14. Aqualung (8:25)
15. Ian Speaks (0:33)
16. Slipstream (0:57)
17. My God (9:57)
18. Ian Speaks (0:23)
19. Hymn 43 (4:32)
20. Budapest (11:40)
21. Ian Introduces the Band/Stage Break (1:48)
22. Wind-Up (6:36)
23. Locomotive Breath (9:24)

Band Members:
Ian Anderson: Vocals / Flute / Acoustic Guitars
Martin Barre: Electric & Acoustic Guitars
David Goodier: Bass Guitars
John O'Hara: Piano / Keyboards / Accordion
Doane Perry: Drums & Percussion

Remember, It's Only A Memory If It's Not Recorded!



1 comment:

  1. The sample sounds great. Looking forward to hear the whole show. Thank you very much and all the best for you.